“Don´t Sweat the Small Stuff”

The greatest discovery of my generation is that a human being can alter his life by altering his attitude – William James

Often we allow ourselves to get all worked up about things that, when you examine them closer, aren´t really that big a deal.  We sometimes focus on little problems and concerns and blow them way out of proportion.  I always get upset when entering a shop and the person in front of me let´s the door go without bothering to look behind and hold it open.  I use to take it really personally, sometimes making loud comments about rudeness so the person could hear me, even telling someone else about it later on rather than simply letting it go.  There are many similar situations that occur in our every day lives.  For example, waiting at a checkout queue when another cash desk opens and everyone behind rushes to the front before you.  How annoyed and stupid does it make you feel?  We need to learn not to worry about the little things.  So many of us spend so much of our energy on small things that we completely lose touch with what´s really important to us and not to miss the wonderful  experiences we have in life.

My Dad had for years suffered from Depression but now seems to have it under control having less and less periods of, as he calls them, his Black Days. He was given the book “Don´t Sweat the Small Stuff” by Richard Carlson which he has now passed onto me.  I haven´t read it all as it is one of those books that can be lifted at  times in your life when you´re feeling overwhelmed, need to let go of your problems and to put everything back into perspective.

3 Responses

  1. so true – I had a few issues through my pregnancy with baby Olive and am so thankful everyday that after being told she would die or be disabled I have a perfectly healthy child.

    My biggest regret is that you have to be dealt this things to know not to let the little things get in the way.

    I also deleted negative people from my life that helps 🙂

  2. How awful it must have been for you to live with that through your pregnancy and very brave not to have given up hope. I´m so happy for you that Olive is healthy.

  3. Sending you a big virtual hug x

Leave a Reply

