I´m a WAHM and proud!

What is a WAHM you´re asking? It´s a great term for a work at home mum; multi-tasker, wife, mother, cook, taxi driver, cleaner, teacher and mumpreneur.  The list is endless but you get the picture.  And this, I am happy to say, is my now my station in life.  In the past this wasn´t something I thought about, going self-employed, working from home and being my own boss but I am so glad that I did.

Although easytoddler has been operating since June 2009 I was only selling one product, the Thudguard Baby Safety Helmet whilst still working full-time as a Health & Safety Manager.  In June this year easytoddler expanded its range of Baby & Toddler products and I went full-time running my own online-shop and what a roller coaster of a journey it has been.  Perhaps if I hadn´t been so naive and knew exactly what an Online business entailed I would probably have run as fast as I could in the other direction.  Thankfully my naivety has led me on a path to a fantastic new learning experience and great networking opportunities, where I have interacted with a whole new world of hard working, inspirational Mumpreneurs.  One of the challenges has probably been learning all about Search Engine Optimisation.  I sometimes feel like a hungry animal daily searching through Facebook and Twitter for hours on end trying to gather as much information on optimisation tips as I can.  For anyone else thinking about starting a new business these platforms have been a brilliant source of information .  As well as getting free advice from experts I have interacted with some really lovely mums and networking groups, some of whom are there solely to help other mums achieve their dreams and I need to give credit to Alli Price @ www.motivatingmum.com and Joanne Dewberry @www.charliemoos.co.uk who without their advice and inspiration I would still be in the dark.

Yes, it´s not all been plain sailing and one of the biggest hurdles is running a business in a foreign country with a language that I am not totally fluent in.  However, it is improving my German, and on the positive side this can only be a plus.  I probably now work more hours in the day on my business than I did in my old job but who´s counting, not me.  It´s irrelevant cause it means I am here when my son comes home from Kindergarten.  I close my laptop till after my son is in bed and enjoy my other role, being a mum.  If I can give one piece of advice to another wannabe Mumpreneur it would be to get networking, build as many relationships as possible with other people or groups relevant to your business.  It costs nothing!

easytoddler HQ

Note the spectacles another bi-product of working on the laptop

3 Responses

  1. Congrats on moving forward Lesley – just think, in a year you’ll be helping others out with tips – it’s how it works! Glad to hear all is well, cheers, Alli x

  2. Kann ich nur einfach sagen, was ein Reduktion zu finden jemand , die wirklich ist sich bewusst, was theyre Sprechen über im Internet. Sie definitiv wie man tragen bis mild und machen es wichtig. Mehr Leute müssen Sprachreisen und wahrnehmen Facette der Geschichte. Ich kann nicht glauben, betrachten youre nicht mehr beliebt da du unzweifelhaft haben das Geschenk.

  3. Ich würde müssen lesen mit Ihnen hier. Was nicht etwas I Regel zu tun! I genießen Studium a submit Mai Leute denken. Auch , vielen Dank für zulässt mir comment !

Leave a Reply

